Minister of Social Affairs Taavi Rõivas commences work

11.12.2012 | 11:49

    • Share

Tallinn, Parliament, 11 December 2012 – Minister of Social Affairs Taavi Rõivas took office today by being sworn in before Parliament.

“Assuming the responsibilities of a member of the Government of the Republic, I am aware that I will be responsible in this position to the Republic of Estonia and my own conscience. I vow to remain loyal to the Constitution of the Republic of Estonia and devote my efforts to ensuring the good and future of the Estonian people,” said Rõivas in reading the oath of office required of a cabinet member.

President Toomas Hendrik Ilves appointed Rõivas as the new social affairs minister at the proposal of Prime Minister Andrus Ansip. By law, a government minister can commence discharging official duties after taking an oath of office before Parliament.

His predecessor as social affairs minister, Hanno Pevkur, took office as minister of justice yesterday evening.

Minister of Justice Kristen Michal submitted a letter of resignation to Prime Minister Ansip last Thursday. The President of the Republic, Toomas Hendrik Ilves, released Michal from the office of justice minister yesterday.

On 10 December 2012, President Ilves signed the decision on making changes to the members of the Cabinet, at the proposal of Prime Minister Ansip.

The members of the Cabinet are now Prime Minister Andrus Ansip, Minister of Education and Research Jaak Aaviksoo, Minister of Justice Hanno Pevkur, Minister of Defence Urmas Reinsalu, Minister of the Environment Keit Pentus-Rosimannus, Minister of Culture Rein Lang, Minister of Economic Affairs and Communications Juhan Parts, Minister of Agriculture Helir-Valdor Seeder, Minister of Finance Jürgen Ligi, Minister of Regional Affairs Siim Valmar Kiisler, Minister of the Interior Ken-Marti Vaher, Minister of Social Affairs Taavi Rõivas and Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Paet.

For photographs of the swearing-in of the minister of social affairs, visit:

Valitsuse kommunikatsioonibüroo